MUSIC PREVIEW: CMS: FRONT ROW (Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and The Soraya)

Post image for MUSIC PREVIEW: CMS: FRONT ROW (Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and The Soraya)

by Connor McCormick on November 30, 2020

in Music,Theater-Los Angeles,Virtual


The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS) created a new digital initiative this year so that local chamber music venues could bring its digital chamber music concerts, CMS: FRONT ROW, to audiences around the country. Yes, it was created in the age of COVID, but now local presenters can stay in touch with their audiences while concert halls in the U.S. and Canada remain shuttered. Most important, the up-close music will reach people who would normally never get a chance to experience such amazing work.

Now, The Soraya in Los Angeles, which has hosted CMS live, welcomes their return with newly curated full-length HD concerts streaming December 4 – 9, 2020, at 5pm PST. The Soraya’s Executive Director, Thor Steingraber, will lead a post-performance discussion with the CMS Front Row artists following the Friday, December 4 at 5pm. Artists include Alessio Bax, Lucille Chung (who is married to Bax), Gloria Chien, and Arnaud Sussmann. Tickets are available at The Soraya.

In addition to the beautifully shot, carefully curated full-length performance videos listed below, new content is being created to accompany and complement the archival concert series.

Alessio Bax & Lucille Chung (Pianos) Mozart and Bartók

  • Mozart: Concerto No. 14 in E-flat major for Piano and String Quintet, K. 449
    Alessio Bax, piano; Arnaud Sussmann, Bella Hristova, violin; Paul Neubauer, viola; Sophie Shao, cello; Joseph Conyers, double bass
  • Bartók: Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion
    Alessio Bax, Lucille Chung, piano; Ian David Rosenbaum, Ayano Kataoka, percussion

Gloria Chien (Piano) Field, Liszt, and Mendelsohn

  • Field: Nocturne No. 2 in C minor for Piano
    Gloria Chien, piano
  • Liszt: Grand duo concertant sur la romance de ‘Le Marin’ for Violin and Piano
    Gloria Chien, piano, Benjamin Beilman, violin
  • Mendelssohn: Quartet in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 1
    Gloria Chien, piano; Sean Lee, violin; Richard O’Neill, viola; Narek Hakhnazaryan, cello

Arnaud Sussmann (Violin) Bach and Chausson

  • Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
    Arnaud Sussmann, violin; Sooyun Kim, Tara Helen O’Connor, flute; Bella Hristova, Francisco Fullana, violin; Richard O’Neill, viola; Dmitri Atapine, cello; Xavier Foley, double bass; Hyeyeon Park, piano-harpsichord
  • Chausson: Concerto in D major for Violin, Piano, and String Quartet, Op. 21
    Arnaud Sussmann, violin; Wu Han, piano; Kristin Lee, Yura Lee, violin; Richard O’Neill, viola; Nicholas Canellakis, cello

Leave a Comment