Music: APPALACHIAN SPRING (Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra)

Post image for Music: APPALACHIAN SPRING (Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra)

by Connor McCormick on November 23, 2020

in Music,Theater-Los Angeles,Virtual


Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra continues its digital season with Aaron Copeland’s masterwork Appalachian Spring. The chamber version, originally commissioned by choreographer Martha Graham as a ballet, provides a superb showcase for LACO’s artistry. Conducted by Music Director Jaime Martín with LACO Conductor Laureate Jeffrey Kahane on piano in their first joint appearance, the piece will be available for free on demand beginning Friday, December 4, 2020, at 6:30pm (PT). Stream at LACO, YouTube or Facebook.

This is part of LACO’s Close Quarters, a bi-monthly series premiering a new episode every other Friday. Each one can be thought of as a filmic episode of a larger series but all based directly on the musical performance, employing the musical repertoire as the foundation and inspiration for the visual art components. Just as the musical curation shifts and changes with each concert program in the season, the visual aspects of each episode will become its own individual work of art.

Appalachian Spring features compelling visual elements directed by groundbreaking director/designer/artist James Darrah, and new poetic text written on election night by prominent Los Angeles-based trans actor/filmmaker/poet Zackary Drucker, a producer and integral voice on the acclaimed Amazon TV series Transparent. Drucker wrote about her experience and mindset while listening to Appalachian Spring for the first time as the polls closed in Florida.

Jaime, Martín, conductor
Jeffrey Kahane, piano
Margaret Batjer, violin
Susan Rishik, violin
Tereza Stanislav, violin
Sarah Thornblade, violin
Erik Rynearson, viola
Robert Brophy, viola
Andrew Shulman, cello
Armen Ksajikian, cello
David Grossman, bass
Ben Smolen, flute
Joshua Ranz, clarinet
Kenneth Munday, bassoon

Leave a Comment